Skip to content

How does being happy affect weight loss and health?

November 25, 2009

Even before I discovered low-carb lifestyle and improving my physical health I was really interested in mental health….creating happiness!  Naturally I’m a negative person, I have a lot of negative thoughts and my life so far has been quite ordinary.

I’ve never liked the status quo.  I hated working 9-5 in jobs that were boring.  I was always looking for something more, but my negativity has caused me to have quite a few failures.  I stumbled across a book called “The 16 laws of success” by Napoleon Hill.   Hill closely studied successful people such as Henry Ford and Andrew Carnegie, and came up with 16 rules for anyone to become successful.   This is the kind of things that should be taught in schools, and usually isn’t.

Man, at age 31 reading this stuff blew my mind!  It was so simple, so easy.  And I got focussed and all of a sudden I was a positive person!  I felt like I had a purpose, I was motivated, enthusiastic and positive.  I read other books like How to stop worrying and start living, The Secret and Zero Limits.  Being positive is not just luck, there is a way to do it.  It’s not fullproof, you have to work hard and practice every day until it becomes automatic.

It’s a daily battle for me to stay positive, I always find myself falling back into old habits but now I have some techniques to help control the thoughts that pop up from my subconscious. I strongly recommend anyone to read those books above, or there are plenty of others.

At the end of the day, those books all talk about the same core thing.  Whatever dominates your mind becomes your reality.  If you’re having negative thoughts, your life will be negative.  If you’re a positive person, you’ll see good things in your life.  So it’s important to realise that you’re thinking negative thoughts, and try to turn them around.  One good technique I learned from Joe Vitale is to make a “gratitude list”.  Write down all the things in your life that you’re grateful for.  And when you feel like you’re in a bad mood just open the list and read it.  And thank whatever’s on that list for your great life.  You can do other things like writing down goals and sticking them on your wall, or creating a “vision board” as they suggested in The Secret.  I find it helps to write things down because writing not only clears it from your mind, it also inspires new ideas.

So how does being happy affect health?  There’s so many stories about people who have defied the odds to beat diseases.  Most of those people just stayed positive and enjoyed every day.  Living without too much stress and being happy is the best way to lose weight and live longer!

When you’re happy with yourself, it doesn’t really matter how you look on the outside.  And naturally you’ll start to lose weight.  I’ve achieved my best health results when I felt happy and little stress in my life.  The two are absolutely connected.  So besides the low-carb dieting and fitness, just enjoy your life, be happy and the results will come a lot more easily.

What techniques do you use to relieve stress and stay happy?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. John Campbell permalink
    November 25, 2009 9:05 pm

    Greetings fellow primal traveler – I read your comment regarding “Paleo Pussies” on Richard’s freetheanimal site and decided to check you out.

    Congratulations on your progress – similar to mine although I am almost 20 years older.

    I have been a self help junky for the past few decades. Many books have helped, but about 6 months ago I reread a book I had purchased several years ago. “Working on Yourself Doesn’t Work” by Ariel and Shya Kane.

    Wow. Their book has changed my life as much or more than eating primal. I have no affiliation with the Kanes other than my belief that they are geniuses. They have a website: http://www.transformationmadeeasy.com and they have excellent podcasts available on itunes. They seem like the real deal and are not overly commercial. They sound like really nice people and I am attending a oourse of theirs in New York in early December so I will learn more. I am Canadian myself, and live in the Great White North.

    Worth checking out from what I glean from your comment to Richard and what I have seen on your site.

    Good luck on your journey – I will follow your blog in the future.

    Cheers!

  2. November 26, 2009 12:44 am

    Hi John, congratulations on your journey too! And I appreciate the link. I haven’t heard of transformationmadeeasy but I had a look at their site. “Living in the moment” sounds very similar to the practice of Ho’oponopono – http://www.hooponopono.org/, which I read about in the Book “Zero Limits” by Joe Vitale and Hew Len.

    Whenever you have negative thoughts or feelings (which for me is pretty much all the time!) you clean yourself by saying “I love you, I’m sorry, please forgive, thank you” to the divine (god, which is in fact you!) and by getting back to a state of zero, you’ll hear inspiration from the divine.

    Sounds a bit weird the first time but it actually really works and I’ve been using it as much as I can. It’s hard to do all the time, but I’ve found my life has been a lot better since I’ve been doing it.

    I’ll try to listen to their podcasts on iTunes. Thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

