Skip to content

In response to Free The Animal blog “Paleo Pussies” piece.

November 25, 2009

http://freetheanimal.com/2009/11/paleo-pussies.html

I love the Free the Animal blog.  It was the first paleo blog I came across.  A middle aged American man, Richard Nikoley and his journey on the paleo diet, how it changed his life and the science behind it.  Its an informative blog and Richard is a great crusader of spreading the paleo / low-carb lifestyle and its health benefits.

If you read his latest piece, he started getting a bit angry with people who aren’t on low-carb as well as big business, media, doctors.

See, we’re dealing with murderers, maimers and their accomplices in academia, research, the medical profession, the big food and drug industry, and of course the total fucking clueless morons in the news media, for whom I reserve special wrath because if they were doing their dammed jobs rather than deep throating big advertiser food & drug cock as much as they possibly can, I wouldn’t have to be doing this shit essentially for free — and as well, a lot of other people could be out Groking on and enjoying life instead of worrying whether they’re hearts are going to explode because they didn’t buy “cholesterol lowering” fucking Cheerios for Christ’s sake.

…Yes, yes, I understand there are other bloggers and commenters out there who want to sit and have tea & crumpets and discuss it all nice and kind like. “Let’s not be too threatening. We want to persuade them all.”

Its something I’m sure that every low-carber has been through before.  Because it just makes so much sense once you start doing it.  You know its right and you know its healthy, that you just want to shout it from the top of the world and you want to hold those in power responsible and see them get punished for their years of lies!

When I first started paleo I told all my friends and family about it.  I told them what I was doing, how much weight I lost and all the other health benefits.  I wanted them all to do it too because I love and care about my family and friends.

But like any reformed zealot, you can get on peoples nerves.  Some people just don’t want to change.  Some people think you’re nuts.  And the more you yell and scream and try, the less likely people are to do what you want.  So I don’t bother anymore.  And I’m much happier for making that change.

At the end of the day everyone needs to take responsibility for their own lives.  I can only change my own life, and if people want to know about what I’m doing and they really want to change then I’m more than happy enough to help them.  If someone doesn’t want to change, then there’s nothing I can do about it and I’m not going to waste my time and energy.  Because I still have so much work to do on myself both physically and mentally and again, I can only change my own life.

The best thing I can do is just set a good example, be happy and healthy and hopefully that will radiate to others.  I hope Richard Nikoley can find that happiness instead of anger, because he has a great message for this world.

Peace,

Mick

5 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2009 12:01 pm

    “set a good example, be happy and healthy and hopefully that will radiate to others.”

    I already do the first and the third. The second, I do most of the time.
    The problem is that the world is full of @ssholes who sometimes get right on my tits (do you use that expression in Oz?). Eg: Road users who have PPRP (Piss Poor Road Positioning) and cause obstructions, or assume that all other road users are psychic thus making signals superfluous, or have their headlamps aimed directly into my eyes at night etc etc.
    If I didn’t let out a few choice swear words every now and then, I think I’d explode.
    So, it’s good to vent!

    Cheers, Nige.

    • November 26, 2009 12:34 am

      Hi Nige, yeah everyone needs to vent and I can totally understand Richard. But at the end of the day I think posting messages like that is going to be counter-productive to what he’s trying to achieve.

      And he’s also claiming that blogs don’t work yet he has 60,000 people visiting his site every month! That’s an amazing number! He’s helping change the lives of people including me.

      More and more people are doing LC and starting blogs and helping spread the word. To change the mainstream though, its going to take time and I’m sure in the next 10-20 years a low carb diet will replace the current high-carb low fat diet as the one approved by governments around the world. You cannot stop this tide, eventually it will hit a tipping point, but it’s going to take some time and we all just need to be patient and keep on doing our best.

  2. November 25, 2009 3:27 pm

    I found your blog via the Paleo Pussies article, and I am glad I did.

    That is an awesome transformation you have pulled off.

    I am adding the feed

  3. John Campbell permalink
    November 26, 2009 2:01 pm

    Mick,

    I too harangued people about my new lifestyle for the first year. Many people noticed the changes in my body and their positive comments encouraged me to launch into the lectures. Yuck. It turns out everyone else hates being told “THE TRUTH” as much as I do.

    I am much more mellow about it now. People have to find their own way – I could not agree more with your comments. I respect Richard a great deal, and have followed his blog for some time. I first got into this through Art DeVany, but Richard was close behind.

    I am still enthusiastic about my new lifestyle almost two years into this. I still get fired up about it to other people, but I am respectful of their choices – including my two late teen aged kids. I am much happier being an example without going on about it.

    Your comments added to the debate at Richard’s site and I think they were valuable for the discussion.

    John

Leave a Reply

