Skip to content

Inspiration

November 26, 2009

These days I found its better just to go with the flow rather than try to be rigid and follow schedules and systems.  I found this works a lot better for weight loss and health too.  The human body isn’t designed to follow rigid schedules, and in fact when you do become rigid, your body resists and you begin to lose momentum.

The more I go to the gym, the less gains I make.  This is a stunning thing I learned recently.  The more you do the same excercise, the more your body becomes resistant to it.  The key to weight loss and strength is to mix things up so your body is surprised and has to work different muscles at different speeds.

Think about the word rigid for a second.  The word itself conjurs images of stiffness, of a strict disciplinarian or someone who is unwilling to accept a new idea.  Its far better to flexible, to be loose and be relaxed and let everything wash around you.

Personally for me, I’ve been rigid my whole life and its only in the last few months I’ve really worked hard to let go and just let life happen rather than try to force it.  And things start to seem like they’re working out…Business is improving, my health is too and I’ve started losing body fat again and getting stronger, when I stagnated for about 3 months because I was stressed out and I was doing the same things over and over.

Not just that, but I feel so much better.  I don’t plan anything any more.  I just let it happen.  When I write a blog piece, its because I had an inspiration or idea, its not because I feel like I have to update it daily.

Yesterday I was writing the copy for my new business Noworriesmate, a service for Korean working holiday makers coming to Australia to help them learn English language and Australian culture.  I didn’t feel in the right mood to do this, but I felt like I had to do it, because I need to set things up before I leave Korea.  But I really didn’t feel good about doing it that day.  I really felt like working on this blog and working on another game I’m making.

The copy I wrote for Noworriesmate was complete rubbish.  And I knew it too.  So I put it aside, and worked on this blog and my game and I felt much better about it.   Today I woke up and had a great idea for noworriesmate, so I updated the copy and its much better!  Problem solved.

When I have a great idea for a game, or I just have a feeling I want to go out for a coffee, I do it.  I’ve lived for way too long doing things I HAVE to do, rather than doing things I feel like doing.

So this it.

From this day forward I am going to do things when I feel inspired to do them.   I’m not going to plan anything.  I’m going to go with the flow.  Whatever happens, happens.  If I’m feeling happy and relaxed, good things will happen for me.

How do you manage these kind of situations?  Are you rigid? Or are you loose?  How do you break out of old habits?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 27, 2009 11:46 am

    I have had similar experiences.

    When I push to achieve a desired result, most often my efforts fall short.

    HOWEVER, when I relax, let go, etc… an answer usually presents itself in a short period of time.

    And yet, I continue to push for answers. Weird

    • November 27, 2009 12:16 pm

      That’s definitely the case with me too Doug. I’m naturally the kind of person who just cannot let something go, and I think thats why I’ve never had any stunning success in my life so far. I still find myself stressing about small things and trying to control things way too much. But I’m working hard to clean these bad habits out of my subconscious. thanks for stopping by (I see you’re into your Tabatas too! Will leave a note on your blog).

Leave a Reply

