Skip to content

Personal Responsibility

December 17, 2009

About 6 months ago I stopped reading the news.  One of the best things I ever did in my life.  News is such as a stresser, and so depressing and so full of negative energy.  Why should I let a whole bunch of things I have no control over make me feel bad?

So I stopped watching and reading news. And I felt so much better for it.  All of a sudden I could focus on myself and what Ineeded to do.  So what? I’m not “informed”.  And maybe I don’t know who Tiger Woods has slept with or which kid has gone on a shooting rampage in America or who won Dancing with the Stars.

That stuff doesn’t affect me and it’s not important.  But the last 3 days for some reason I have been drawn back in.  I was listening to some health and wellness podcasts about people talking about how Farmers are being forced into using hormones and chemical laden feeds on their animals.  About how the raw milk industry in America is being threatened by food assocation under the guise of big business.

I got angry that so many people have been mislead by governments and the medical industry and so many people are unhappy and unhealthy.  It started to piss me off.  And I got angry.    It affected my work, my study and even my relationship with my wife.  She could see a change instantly.  “You’re back to the old you” she said.  And as soon as she said that I snapped right out of it.  Thank god for my wife to straighten me out sometimes.  I remembered why I stopped reading the news in the first place.

I can only take responsibility for my own actions.

I can only control what I’m doing, I cannot control others and trying to do so only creates negative energy.

I’m becoming more healthy and happy because I’m taking action to do that.  As selfish as it may sound, I should not worry or care if others are unhappy or unhealthy.  It’s their own responsibility to change their lives.  All I can do to help them is to be happy and healthy in myself and if they want my help then I will try and help them to the best of my ability.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

